En fantastisk bok fra A+O.


The Nerdrum School

-The Master and his students


 Where to buy the book

Not many artists of today’s art world create an additional footprint through his or hers great number of pupils. Odd Nerdrum founded a school that was common for master painters in earlier centuries but not of today. His followers have a direct influence in their art from their master. This book shows how “The Nerdrum School” is an important part of the international art scene in our time.

The author of the preface, the art critic Richard Vine describes Nerdrum like this: “For the last four decades, Odd Nerdrum has been, in that sense, a necessary artist—not because he towers at the forefront of world acclaim or because his work engages contemporary issues in distinctly contemporary visual terms. On the contrary, he has been—by his own account and in keeping with his own wish—the odd man out. Most viewers and most art-world professionals have regarded him as simply too talented and too famous to ignore, and yet too contrarian to embrace. In his long rough gown, Nerdrum has stood at the door of art’s Temple, so to speak, like a prophet reminding us of our artistic derelictions and sins.”

256 pages

500 illustrations

Graphic design: Claudia Sandor and Halvor Bodin

Editor: Inger Schjoldager

Language: English

ISBN: 978-91-87543-04-3

Price: NOK 498,-


The artist represented beside Odd Nerdrum:


Amy Sherald


Andrea J. Smith


Andrew Scheglov


Anthony Ackrill


Atle Skudal


Austin Murphy


Billy Roy Økland


Boris Koller


Brad Silverstein


Brad Wilde


Brandon Kralik


Caleb Knodell


Carlos Madrid


Christer Tronsmed


Christiane Clarissa Koch


Cornelia Hernes


David Maddy


David Molesky


David Ransom


Dylan Critchfield-Sales


Elisabeth Gyllensten


Eri Haruyama


Evan Kitson


Even Richardson


Fereidoun Ghaffari


Francis O`Toole


Gabrielle Vitollo


Geir Stahl


Guillermo Lorca Garcia Huidobro


Gunnar Haslund


Harald Kolderup


Hege Elisabeth Haugen


Helene Knoop


Irena Jovic


Ivanco Talevski


Jan-Ove Tuv


Jay Senetchko


Joakim ericsson


Joel frank


Johan Patricny


Jonathan Matthews


Jonny Andvik


Jordi Diaz Alamà


Julia Clift


Kaja Norum


Kjetil Jul


Kristina Gehrmann


Kristy Gordon


Lauren Gidwitz


Luke Hillestad


Maria Kreyn


Markus Andersson


Mattias Sammekull


Molly Judd


Monika Helgesen


Nanne Nyander


Natalie Holland


Nick Alm


Nicholas Mancini


Nicole Porter


Odin Borgen


Osiris Rain


Paula Rubino


Per Trygve Lundgren


Richard Thomas Scott


Robert Dale Williams


Rose Freymuth-Frazier


Sampo Kaikkonen


Sebastian Letelier


Shane Young


Sigmund da Silva Lien


Stefán Boulter


Stig Ristesund


Sverre Bjertnes


Teresa Oaxaca


Terje Adler Mørk


Thomas Ehretsmann


Thomas Klevjer


Timothy Joseph Allen


Trine Folmoe


Ulrik Stenshøj


Vídir I thrastarson


Nick O `Leary


Jeremy Francis Bell